Distributed Implementations and Multiple Error Flags

Yay, I’m a beginner again!

While looking at some error checking code I found that a developer had written a loop to clear all possible error flags. This assumes that the current implementation uses more than one error flag and the loop to clear them is set to a ridiculously high number. First of all, is anyone aware of an implementation (that matters) which implements more than one error flag per context? If so, what is the actual benefit? I mean, you get the error codes in an implementation defined order and cannot reliably attribute the error to anything anyway.

Also, the GL 4.4 (or possibly a much earlier) spec dropped the advice that errors should be queried in a loop if one wanted to clear all the flags. Or has that advice always been an addendum to the man pages?

What’s the deal with this?

The comment about using a loop isn’t in the 1.5 spec either.

The key point is that a single call to glGetError() isn’t guaranteed to reset the error state (i.e. a subsequent call isn’t guaranteed to return GL_NO_ERROR).

Beyond that, I think that it’s trying to say that the first error to occur will be among the reported errors. I.e. that a non-distributed implementation will report the first error and a distributed implementation will report the first error for each unit, one of which will actually be the first error to occur.

So e.g. if a state-change command fails with GL_INVALID_ENUM, and this causes a subsequent command to fail with GL_INVALID_OPERATION because of the incorrect state, the GL_INVALID_ENUM will get reported at some point in the next glGetError() loop; you won’t just see a solitary GL_INVALID_OPERATION which couldn’t possibly have happened in the absence of some earlier error.