Cascaded shadow map bug between splits

Hi,

I’m still new in the world of shadows and I implemented a cascaded shadow maps. It works fine in general, but I’m being puzzled with a stitched line that sometime happens between my splits.

You can see in this image the bug in between the 2 splits:

This isn’t the depth maps, this is the actual amount of shadows applied to the rendered scene.

This bug is seen in PCF, using shadow2DArray but it won’t happen if I do the depth comparison myself using texture2DArray, so I know my depth map is ok.

Here is the shader code I use:

float getShadowCoef(int nIndex, float fDist)
{
	vec4 shadow_coord = shadTextMat[nIndex]*eyepos;
	shadow_coord.w = shadow_coord.z;
	shadow_coord.z = float(nIndex);

float ret = shadow2DArray(nTexUnit8, shadow_coord).x;
	return ret;
}

float shadowCoef()
{
	int index = 0;
	float fDist = length(eyepos);
	for (int ii=0; ii<nNumSplits; ii++)
	{
		if(fDist < far_d[ii])
		{
			index = ii;
			break;
		}
	}

float coef = getShadowCoef(index, fDist);
	return coef;
}

I tried forcing shadow_coord.w and shadow_coord.z to constant values, the stitching still occur. Making more tests has proven me the stitch is shared between the 2 splits (forcing a split to given value reduces the stitch, but doesn’t completely eliminates it.

FYI, I’m using a geForce GTX 580 with an up to date driver.

Has anyone seen something like this?

Thanks.

The link doesn’t work for me.

A shot in the dark, but I have two ideas:

1. It might be that you’re sampling slightly over the edge of the cascade’s shadow texture. Try setting GL_CLAMP_TO_EDGE as texture wrap mode, so you don’t end up sampling the opposite side of the texture as your texture coordinates go off the edge.